Marilyn Carino releases second solo album ‘Leaves, Sadness, Science’ featuring R.E.M bassist


Marilyn Carino releases her second solo album ‘Leaves, Sadness, Science’ featuring R.E.M bassist Mike Mills. The blend of electronic, soul and hip hop styles alongside Carino’s powerful vocals offers a completely unique sound.

Watch the music video for ‘When The Innocents Go To War’ here:

Having previously shared stages with Black Star and David Byrne, Carino has developed as a musician, using her long time practice of Nichiren Buddhism to explore themes of sex and radical self-expression. Her first album was recorded at Neil Young’s studio with Crazy Horse bassist Billy Talbot as the producer. Carino was also involved in the vintage electronic group Mudville who produced three critically acclaimed albums and wrote lyrics for producers Sly and Robbie. Their single ‘Wicked’ won the 2008 Independent Music Award for Best Song but she soon went solo and recently contributed vocals and lyrics to the Words Hurt indie hip hop collective’s ‘Fuck That Pretty Boy Shit’, featuing Future Island’s Samuel T. Herring.